Sangakkara, Tendulkar, Philander, Kallis and Anderson nominated for LG People’s Choice Award 2012

ICC Media Release

The third LG People’s Choice Award this year sees two former winners nominated alongside three other international cricketing stars in a bid to win the only award voted for by the public at the annual LG ICC Awards.

Those nominated include Sri Lanka’s Kumar Sangakkara, India’s Sachin Tendulkar, South Africa’s duo Vernon Philander and Jacques Kallis, while England’s James Anderson makes up the quintet of nominees.

Both Sangakkara (2011) and Tendulkar (2010) have won the LG People’s Choice Award in the past.

For the third time in the history of the LG ICC Awards, fans will have the opportunity to decide the winner, this time by accessing an application on the ICC’s official Facebook page: Voting will be open until midnight UAE time on 31 August with the winner to be announced on 15 September at the LG ICC Awards in Colombo.

The short list, nominated by an elite panel of cricket experts headed by former West Indies captain Clive Lloyd, along with Sri Lanka’s Marvan Atapattu, England’s Clare Connor, West Indies Carl Hooper and Australia’s Tom Moody was selected using criteria set out by LG and the ICC. This dictated that the nominees should have displayed some of the attributes regarded by LG as in line with their corporate qualities such as innovation, dynamism, strength in decision-making, performing well under pressure and executing a plan to distinction.

ICC Chief Executive David Richardson said: “This is the third year of the LG People’s Choice Award and it is proving to be hugely popular among fans across the globe and continues to highlight how much voting for their cricketing heroes means.

“This year sees the two past winners nominated again alongside three other extremely deserving candidates, I’m sure the public will choose wisely as to who will be the 2012 winner of this prestigious award at the LG ICC Awards 2012.”

Further details on the other LG ICC Awards will be released in the next month.

  • perera chamil hesanth

    best player i ever see

  • Maureen Bainton

    Sanga is the best

  • cricket lover


  • Dileep kumar Malhi

    Sanga is best player now i day in cricket world.

    • shamil

      Yes Sanga is the best

  • Mohamed Rizwan

    No Doubt About that Kumar Sangakkara

    • Mohamed Rizwan


  • Aniko

    Sanga is the people choice

  • mohammed mawfiqe

    kumar sangakkara is the best no 1 player in wold of cricket

  • Fassy mohammed


  • Niroj

    Kumar Sangakkara

  • Dakshina

    Sanga is the best.