Signing of the Annual Contracts finalized

Media Release

Sri Lanka Cricket is pleased to announce that the signing of the Annual Contracts offered to the National Team has been finalized. These contracts were given to 23 National Players who were categorized in to 4 groups.

Category 1

1. Angelo Mathews

2. T.M.Dilshan

3. Mahela Jayawardana

4. Kumar Sangakkara

5. Lasith Malinga

6. Nuwan Kulasekera

7. Rangana Herath

Category 2

1. Dinesh Chandimal

2. Ajantha Mendis

Category 3

1. Lahiru Thirimanne

2. Thisara Perera

Category 4

1. Shaminda Eranga

2. Chanaka Welagedera

3. Dimuth Karunarathne

4. Jeewan Mendis

5. Suraj Randiv

6. Kusal Janith Perera

7.Sachitra Senanayaka

8.Upul Tharanga

9. Suranga Lakmal

10.Nuwan Pradeep


Special Category

1. Prasanna Jayawardana

2. Thilan Samaraweera

At this meeting the players requested for the reinstatement of the guarantee fee component which was taken off by SLC this year. (The guarantee fee is a payment made by the ICC to member nations for participation in the ICC events. Earlier players were allocated of 25% of the fee paid to SLC. The players requested the fee to be paid to them where they would reallocate the funds received via the guarantee fee towards Cricket development activities in the country. However, SLC rejected the proposal put forward by the players as it was felt Cricket Development activities purview should be vested with the governing body rather than with the players in concernInitially  the original contracts were handed over to the players by officials of SLC last week explaining the changes in the new agreement to each category of players. Upon a request by the players a meeting was organized with the presence of the office bearers of the executive committee of Sri Lanka Cricket to further explain the rationale of components of the contract presented for signing. At the said meeting, which was held late on the 2nd of March, Sri Lanka Cricket very clearly stated their intention was not to deviate from the context of the original contract.

The Newly appointed National Captain Angelo Mathews, on behalf of the National Team Players requested a meeting on the following day with the Chairman of Selectors Mr. Sanath Jayasuriya. Upon request from Mr. Jayasuriya  SLC duly agreed to grant approval for the meeting and it was held at SLC premises with the patronage of the Team Manager Michael De Zoysa.

The amounts allocated to the 23 National Players from the current contracts amounts to 67% of the 2013 revenue generated by Sri Lanka Cricket. If SLC agreed to grant the players request to include the guarantee fee component to the contract value SLC will have to bear 81% of its annual revenue towards the 23 Cricketers, leaving no provision for a successful all round year. SLC’s stance towards this matter was maintained taking in to account all Cricketing interests pertaining to Sri Lanka.

On the 4th of March all Cricketers who were offered contracts (with the exception of Mahela Jayawardena who is currently overseas) signed the same showing the players solidarity towards Sri Lanka Cricket.

Sri Lanka Cricket wish to thank Hon. Mahindananda Aluthgamage – Minister of Sports for his confidence shown towards Sri Lanka Cricket, Chairman of Selectors Mr. Sanath Jayasuriya for his effort and time to solve this matter and the new Manager Mr. Micheal De Zoysa for the services rendered in player communications. A special mention of gratitude should also given to the players for the level of understanding shown in this matter. Notable appreciation also goes out to the Sri Lankan media circle for the responsible manner in which this sensitive matter was handled.

  • isura

    upul tharanga chandi la mathews latath wada parana kenek ai mae eyata katha wada karala