SLC Executive Committee Decisions – May 22nd 2014

Media Release

The Executive Committee of Sri Lanka Cricket at its meeting held today (May 22nd) made the following decisions.

>> Payment to Past Cricketers

On recommendation of the Committee appointed by the ExCO previously It was approved to make a payment to Past Cricketers who have done the country proud. This was decided with the thought in mind to assist these Cricketers who are in need of financial assistance to help with their medical needs. The committee had  identified 14 past cricketers and recommended  to make a grant of Rs. 300,000 for their medical expenses,which was approved by the ExCO.

>> Anti Corruption Tribunal  Re Appointed:

The Anti Corruption Tribunal was Re Appointed and it will comprise of the following members ,  Mr. R.J. De Silva (Chairman), Mr. Anura Tennakoon and Mr. Jayantha Paranathala.

>> Sri Lanka Under 17 Team;

In recognition of their performance, It was decided to pay an allowance of Rs. 15,000/= to each of the 20 players of the Sri Lanka Under 17 Team,  who performed well against the visiting England U17 team .

>> National Umpires Managers Meeting 2014

Manager – Tournaments & Umpires Mr. Chandima Mapatuna was nominated to participate in the National Umpires Managers Meeting to be held in Barbados in July 2014 conducted by ICC.

>> Coach and Support Staff for Clubs:

It was approved to provide a monthly allowance of Rs. 150,000/= to Premier Clubs and Rs. 100,000/= to Emerging Clubs in order for them to recruit a Coach and Support Staff for their respective clubs. The recruited staff will be utilized by SLC as necessary.

>> Resignation of SL ‘A’ Trainer:

The resignation of the SL ‘A’ Team trainer Mr. Mario Vellavarayan was accepted by the committee, and the position will be advertised in due course.

>> Umpires for the ICC International Panel:

The Committee ratified the recommendation made by the Cricket Committee to nominate the Umpires to the ICC International Panel  for a period of 2 years. The 3 umpires would be Ranmore Martinez, Ruchira Paliyagurge and Ravindra Wimalasiri

>> Women’s Cricket:

Division 3 tournament to be introduced to the tournament structure in order to accommodate the new clubs and teams and a provincial tournament also to be incorporated into the tournament structure.

>> Match Referees and Umpire Match Fees:

The Basic match fees of the Match Referees and Umpires was increased by 20% for domestic cricket.