SLC Player Discussions

Media Release

Sri Lanka Cricket wishes to announce that the Executive Committee decided to appoint a 3 member committee to discuss the issues pertaining to the player contracts. The committee included Treasurer Mr. Nuski Mohamed, Chairman Selectors Hon. Sanath Jayasuriya and the Chief Executive Officer Mr. Ashley De Silva.

The Committee had discussions with the Captain of the National team Mr. Angelo Mathews yesterday. At the discussion he outlined the expectations of the team to include a payment of 20% of the participation fee of the ICC and ACC events to the participating players. After discussions, the Committee in consultation with the office bearers of the SLC’s Executive Committee, offered 10% of the participation fee from the ICC and ACC events to the players which will be applied for the next 5 years and will be non negotiable.

This will not apply to the recently concluded ICC World Twenty 20 2014 tournament. Instead, the players will receive a participation fee and an incentive totaling up to USD 1,500,000 along with the prize monies.

The above offer was accepted by the players and they have agreed to sign the annual contracts in due course.