Sri Lanka A lose 2nd unofficial Test despite valiant 117 by Bhanuka Rajapaksa


India A clinch series 2-nil

Sri Lanka A lost the second unofficial Test to India A by 152 runs at the Nehru Stadium in Hubli which concluded yesterday June 3. With this win India A secured a 2-0 series triumph.

Batting first, India A made 269 and 372 to which Sri Lana A were all out for 212 in 60 overs and 277 in 66.4 overs.

Despite a valiant despite a valiant 110 by No.3 batsman Bhanuka Rajapaksa inclusive of 17 boundaries and 3 sixes, the massive 430-run victory target proved too much for Sri Lanka A.  The match winner was Rahul Chahar who starred in an all-round display claiming 6 wickets for   and struck a maiden half century. Wicketkeeper-batsman KS Bharat was the mainstay for his side making 117 in the first innings. Sri Lankan pace bowler Lahiru Kumara claimed 4 for 53 and off spinner Lakshan Sandakan 4 for 64 respectively. India were at one time on the ropes at 64 for 3 before Srikar Bharat and Anmolpreet Singh (65) figured in a 91-run alliance to resurrect the innings. Anmolpreet’s knock contained 6 boundaries and 2 sixes.

Sri Lanka A conceded a 57-run first innings deficit with only No. 7 Kamindu Mendis compiling a fine half-century containing 11 boundaries. Off spinner Jayant Yadav was the pick of the Indian bowlers with 3 for 24 from his 12 overs while Sandeep Warrier and Shivam Dube took two apiece.

India A drove home the advantage on the mammoth 372 in the second innings with Singh (60), Siddhesh Lad (53) and Bharat (60) leading the way. Rahul Chahar and Jayant shared in a 123-run eighth-wicket stand. R.D. Chahar hit a 109-ball 84 with 7 boundaries and 2 sixes while Jayant made 53. Srikar Bharat was adjudged the Player of the Match.


India A 269 (Bharat 117, Anmolpreet 65, Lahiru Kumara 4-53, Sandakan 4-64) and 372 (Chahar 84, Bharat 60, Anmolpreet 60, Fernando 3-68, Sandakan 3-87)

Sri Lanka A 212 (Kamindu 68, Jayant 3-24) and 277 (Rajapaksa 110, Chahar 5-112)

By Srian Obeyesekere

-The opinions expressed here are the views of the writer and do not necessarily reflect the views and opinions of Sri Lanka Cricket-