Tharanga 127 as Galle beat Kandy by 3 wickets; Weerakkody 96 in Dambulla’s 6-wicket win over Colombo


Upul Tharanga struck a whirlwind 127 off 121 balls to pilot Galle to a 3 wicket win over Kandy in their third match of the Super Four Provincial One-Day Tournament at the P. Saravanamuththu Stadium on Thursday. However, Galle was pushed back by Kandy from a healthy 220 for 4 to 229 for 6 after Tharanga’s dismissal before Seekuge Prasanna struck an unbeaten 34 off 16 balls containing 2 boundaries and 3 sixes to clinch victory in 47.4 overs.

Tharanga struck 16 boundaries and a six while sharing in a 113-run alliance for the fourth wicket with Shammu Ashan who scored 51 off 67 balls inclusive of 6 boundaries and a six. He also posted 81 for the first wicket with Ramith Rambukwella who made 34 off 39 with 5 boundaries and a six.

Upul Tharanga Galle Team 127 runs DSC_2044

Sanudun Weerakkody pilots Dambulla’s victory

Meanwhile, Dambulla strolled to a handsome 6-wicket triumph over Colombo at the CCC grounds. Having shot out Colombo for a paltry 162 in 39.4 overs, Dambulla made 166 for 4 in 36.3 overs on a top score of 96 off 83 balls by opening batsman Sadun Weerakkody. He struck 9 boundaries and 4 sixes sharing in a 75-run alliance for the fourth wicket with Sachithra Serasinghe who was unbeaten on 29 off 59 balls containing 3 boundaries.

 Chief Scores:

At P. Saravanamuththu Stadium – Galle beat Kandy by 3 wickets

Kandy 272/9 (50 Overs) Run Rate 5.44

(M. Bhanuka 82, K.I.C. Asalanka 55, B.M.A.J. Mendis 43,

S.S. Pathirana 25, P.M. Pushpakumara 4/41, K.T.G.D. Prasad 2/71).

Galle 276/7 (47.4 Overs) Run Rate 5.79

(W.U. Tharanga 127, S. Ashan 51, R.L.B. Rambukwella 34, S. Prasanna n.o. 34, S.S. Pathirana 2/41, K.I.C. Asalanka 2/46).

 (D.S. Weerakkody 96, S.C. Serasinghe n.o. 29, S.N. Peiris 2/31).

At Colombo Cricket Club Grounds – Dambulla beat Colombo by 6 wickets.

Colombo 162 all out (39.4 Overs). Run Rate 4.08

(L. Abeyratne 49, A.K. Perera 33, N.L.T.C. Perera 23, S.M.A. Priyanjan 3/11, S. C. Serasinghe 2/20, T.N. Sampath 2/42).

Dambulla 166 for 4 (36.3 Overs) Run rate 4.54

(D.S. Weerakkody 96, S.C. Serasinghe n.o. 29, S.N. Peiris 2/31).

By Srian Obeyesekere

-The opinions expressed here are the views of the writer and do not necessarily reflect the views and opinions of Sri Lanka Cricket-