Thirty cricket wickets for North & East

Cricket practice nets jointly undertaken by Sri Lanka Cricket and the Foundation of Goodness is an initiative to promote cricket development in rural schools spread widely in the north & east. Post conflict era has seen enormous talent which needs to be harnessed for the greater advancement of cricket in our nation.

Sri Lanka Cricket through its National Development Committee headed by President Jayantha Dharmadasa has started a Infrastructure Development Plan for its stakeholders, such as Districts, Clubs, Associations, Provinces, and Schools. The development programme for schools was supported by the legendary cricketer Muthiah Muralidaran subsequent to the inaugural Murali Cup held in Jaffna, Kilinochchi, Mankulam, Mullaitivu & Vavnuniya. Sri Lanka Cricket believes that it needs to provide cricket practice and match facilities for youngsters to be given an opportunity for the development of their talent and skills. This concept is supported by Foundation of Goodness and Muthaiah Muralidaran. SLC believes that the project can make fast progress in human lives in North and East. SLC is also working on to having greater facilities that will take sometime to materialize.

Sri Lanka Cricket would like to thank Mr. Muttaih Muralidaran for endorsing Tokyo Cement and for coming forward to be their Brand Ambassador without any remuneration and helping SLC to be provided with the cement Free of Charge for this project.

The list of 30 schools in the North & East that are benefited from this facility:

Batticaloa (4 wickets) – Oddamavadi Central College, Alighar National School, Sivananda National School and Periyakallar Central College

Trincomalee (4 wickets) – Kantale Central College, Mahaweligama Navodya School, Sinhala Maha Vidyalaya and Kinniya Central College

Mullaitivu (4 wickets) – Vidyananda College, Mullaitivu Maha Vidyalaya, Mankulam Maha Vidyalaya and Pudukuduirippu Central College

Vavuniya (3 wickets) – Nelukkulam Madya Maha Vidyalaya, Madukanda Maha Vidyalaya and Vavuniya Hindu College.

Killinochchi (5 wickets) – Killinochchi Central College, Kilinochchi MV, Tharmapuram MV, Mulankavil MV and Killinochchi Hindu College

Jaffna (6 wickets) – Jaffna College, Vaddukkoddai, Jaffna Hindu College, Kokuvil Hindu College, Mahajana College, Nelliady MMV and Victoria College

Mannar (4 wickets) – St. Xavier s College, Siththy Vinayakar Hindu College, Fathima Maha Vidyalaya, Pesalai, and Al Azhar Maha Vidyalaya.