Voting begins in CEAT Peoples Player of the Year stakes

Statistics apart, Sri Lankan cricket fans have been provided an opportunity to pick their very own cricketing hero via SMS at the second CEAT Peoples Player of the Year competition launched by the country’s top tyre brand.

Twenty two cricketers on contract with Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) are eligible for this prestigious award, which will be presented at the annual CEAT Sri Lanka Cricket Awards scheduled for 4th October 2010.

Voting opened on Friday 10th September and will close on 1st October 2010. Voting may be done via five mobile networks — Dialog, Etisalat, Mobitel, Hutch and Airtel – and the CDMA services of Lanka Bell, Suntel and SLT City Link.

Voters should type CEAT (space) Name of the Cricketer and send to 2343 to participate. Any number of votes may be sent from a single phone, and receipt of a valid vote will be confirmed by return SMS. Each voting SMS will cost the sender Rs 5 /=

All persons who vote for their favourite cricketer will go into a draw at the end of voting and 10 voters will win tickets to the grand 2010 CEAT Sri Lanka Cricket Awards gala at Waters Edge.

“As the highest-selling tyre brand in the commercial vehicle as well as the personal cars and vans segment in Sri Lanka, CEAT is truly a people’s brand,” said Ravi Dadlani, General Manager Sales & Marketing at CEAT. “We understand that people have their own heroes and would like to pay tribute to them from the heart. The CEAT Peoples Player of the Year provides them with the opportunity to do just that.”

Sri Lanka’s dynamic top order batsman Tillekeratne Dilshan won the coveted CEAT Peoples Player of the Year in 2009.

The nominees for this year’s award are Kumar Sangakkara, Mahela Jayawardena, Muttiah Muralitharan, Thilan Samaraweera, T. M. Dilshan, Nuwan Kulasekera, Angelo Mathews, Upul Tharanga, Thilan Thushara, Rangana Herath, Prasanna Jayawardena, Ajantha Mendis, Chamara Kapugedera, Lasith Malinga, Thilina Kandamby, Dilhara Fernando, Chamara Welagedera, Tharanga Paranavithana, Suraj Randhiv, Dinesh Chandimal, Sanath Jayasuriya and Chaminda Vaas.

CEAT partners Sri Lanka Cricket to conduct the annual CEAT Sri Lanka Cricket Awards that honour the country’s best cricketers for performances in domestic and international tournaments. CEAT also supports motor racing and football in Sri Lanka.

  • Bhanuka




  • Indra

    I like to Sanga

  • Rohan

    Sanga forever……



  • http://google harini

    I would like Sangakkara to prevail as the captain.
    Or else Angelo Mathews is suitable for this post.

  • Veronica

    My vote our Hero Mahela Jayawardene

  • Supu

    The best player is LASITH MALINGA 4ever!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    he is the only suitable person 4 thus award

  • http://ROL Mario

    Sri Lankans have forgotten the yeoman services rendered by Chaminda Vaas. He was always the unsung hero. He is among the worlds best ranking pace bowlers. Not that Murali and the rest have not done their part.. But shouldn’t all rally to honor Vaas before he is forgotten for good?

  • ashanthi

    My vote for stunning Chandimal,,,,he proved he’s a talented cricketer…

  • Nataliya Shenara de Silva

    I would give my vote to either Chaminda Vaas or Muttiah Muralitharan ere they be forgotten after their star class spells !

  • thilina pradeep

    t.m dilshan…

  • 123

    T. M. Dilshan he deserver it for his hard work in cricket

  • dhatri


  • shenal

    i vote kapugedera for his great knock in t-20 world cup quater final.

  • Aanjalie

    Sanga will be da 2010 ppls me hes gonna win it!

  • Navya

    Anji helped us in many vital occasions. He led sl to t20 world cup semi s and was the only man to score in that match. He is the best.

  • rasika

    ajantha mendia

  • rasika

    i vote for




    Ajantha mendis



  • niro

    ANGELO …………………………………

  • niro


  • Rushadha

    my vote goes 4 Mahela , Sanga & Anjalo…

  • Hiran47

    My vote goes for one n’ only Sanga….!!!

  • Sanjaya

    I voted for Malinga, Angelo & Dilshan. They are best cricketers in the team.

  • Sewwandi Weerasinghe

    Sent lyk 10 votes 4 Angelo he’s gonna get this award!!!!!!!

  • Zaharan

    Murali is odds on to win this award, i am sure about that……

  • Da Game

    i voted chandimal and angii…angii shud get this award..he deserve it..

  • Wemanthi Herath

    I am voting to angi
    he is the best
    He is the ceat player of the year

  • Namal Polgolla

    I vote for Murali ,He is a legend.

  • Minuri Peiris

    I voted for Sanga,Anji n Mahela!
    C’mon Roaring lions>>

  • prasanna Ariyadasa

    I have no chance to participate this event by voting since im in Japan. But I feel this award should be given to Murali, as a tribute to him since he is retired from test cricket recently.

  • sumedhA de silva

    i vote for kumar


    Angelo is the best, but last few matches he didn’t do at his best. I think my vote is for Muttiah Muralidaran and Kumar Sangakkara.

  • Chamika Induwara Guruge

    I voted for Angelo. He is the best all-rounder in the team.